College Station Independent School District

Success, Each Life...Each Day...Each Hour

More National Merit, College Board Recognitions

More National Merit, College Board Recognitions
Posted on 09/28/2022

In addition to the eight National Merit Semifinalists named earlier this month, 63 more College Station ISD students were recognized with a Letter of Commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Program and/or a National Scholar Award from the College Board.

CSISD students comprise 25 of the approximately 34,000 students nationwide who are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise with a Letter of Commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Program.  Although they will not continue in the 2023 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2023 competition by taking the 2022 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

Also of note, College View High School’s Elizabeth Sorensen became the school’s first-ever Letter of Commendation recipient.

In addition, the College Board recently designated 41 CSISD seniors as College Board National Recognition Program Scholars, based on academic achievements and outstanding performance on the PSAT and/or AP exams.

The College Board National Recognition Programs create pathways to college for underrepresented students by awarding them academic honors and connecting them with universities across the country.

The College Board, which administers the PSAT and SAT, recognizes academic excellence through its National Recognition Programs. Students selected for this prestigious honor can cite it on their college and scholarship applications. In turn, colleges use the listing of this honor as a way of identifying students from underrepresented groups who have excelled on their PSAT/NMSQT, PSAT 10, or AP Exams and in their classwork.

A complete list of CSISD winners are below.

AMCHS winners CSHS winners
CSHS winners CSHS winners

NMC = National Merit Commended

NAAS = National African-American Scholar

NHS = National Hispanic Scholar

NIS = National Indigenous Scholar


Fimisokan Adesemoye, CSHS - NMC & NAAS

Alexa Ayala, CSHS - NHS

Hannah Baetge, AMCHS - NMC

Anushri Bhuvanesh, CSHS - NMC

Madison Birmingham, AMCHS - NAAS

Naomi Bonaiti, AMCHS - NAAS

Peter Brown, AMCHS - NMC

Kenjiro Cabrera, AMCHS - NMC & NHS

Jordan Carter, CSHS - NAAS

Sean Castillo, CSHS - NHS

Elizabeth Castro, AMCHS - NHS

Ally Duan, AMCHS - NMC

John Dvoracek, AMCHS - NMC

Shashan Fernando, CSHS - NMC

Heaven Ford, CSHS - NAAS

Valeria Gallego, AMCHS - NHS

Fernanda Garcia Avalos, AMCHS - NHS

Sophia Gharaibeh, CSHS - NHS

Jessica Gomillion, CSHS - NMC

Cedric Gonzalez, CSHS - NHS

Abraham Guillen, AMCHS - NHS

Casey Hawkins, CSHS - NMC & NHS

Calista Hernandez, CSHS - NHS

Nicholas Herring, CSHS - NMC

Anastasia Hueste, CSHS - NMC

Alessandro Iero, AMCHS - NMC

Ashton Jasperson, AMCHS - NMC

Mahir Kaya, CSHS - NMC

Alan Kocmoud, AMCHS - NHS

Agustin Leopiz Saborio, AMCHS - NHS

Ethan Levy, AMCHS - NHS

Deyu Li, AMCHS - NMC

Angelina Lopez, CSHS - NHS

Yunzhou Lu, AMCHS - NMC

Araily Maralbyek, AMCHS - NMC

Rossmaire Marden, AMCHS - NHS

Gabriel Mendoza, CSHS - NHS

Felisha Mireles, AMCHS - NAAS & NHS

Elizabeth Morton, CSHS - NHS

Aanya Patel, AMCHS - NAAS

Jaiden Patel, AMCHS - NAAS

Sydney Perez, AMCHS - NAAS & NHS

Maya Quiroz, AMCHS - NHS

Angel Rangel, CSHS - NHS

Ricardo Salias, AMCHS - NHS

Luke Salmon, AMCHS - NHS

Hannah Sanchez-Owsik, AMCHS - NHS

Medha Sarin, AMCHS - NMC

LeeAnna Schubert, AMCHS - NHS

Emily Shafer, CSHS - MIS

Noah Sherman, CSHS - NHS

Elizabeth Sorensen, CVHS - NMC

Divya Srinivasa, AMCHS - NMC

Nikolas Staack, AMCHS - NHS

Laura Stoleru, CSHS - NMC

Rita Szunyogh, CSHS - NMC

Nathan Taylor, AMCHS - NMC

Rafael Tejeda, CSHS - NHS

Abigail Tesfamichael, CSHS - NAAS

Waylon Trejo, AMCHS - NHS

Antony Vasquez, AMCHS - NHS

Claire Wang, AMCHS - NMC

Kentaro Yamauchi, AMCHS - NHS


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.